Eat that frog.

Today I feel kinda off. Not really sure why, but I think I can guess.

It’s currently reading week, here at the University which is only occasionally beautiful. For some reason the school decided to remove some of the religious holidays which are usually super prevalant here, and replaced them with a fall reading week. Now, I don’t know why teachers assume that when we have a week of no class, we have a ton of spare time.

We don’t. For the record.

But by the looks of my ‘to do’ list, you would think that I had a whole month off. So this is all to say that the school work has been piling up around me. I try to get to it, but it seems that my accomplishment level is not so stellar as of late. Why? I think it is because I forgot to eat my frog.

I know what you’re thinking, Uhh did she just say eat your…fr…nahhh.

Well yes infact, I did. (Sorry for being gross.)

Eating your frog refers to doing the task that you feel is the most intimadating, strenuous, and discouraing FIRST. Before you get on with the simple, mundane tasks of your week, eat your frog, otherwise it will just sit on the plate soaking up your energy. Eat it first, and you actually gain energy. Or so they say.

I don’t know about you, but before I go eating my frogs, I really need the assurance that when I sit down to munch, (sorry-gross again), that this frog will not beat me. That by avoiding other tasks which could very well give me the boost I need to get things done, I will actually get more done in the long run.

I need a little encourgement. You? Check out this short video before we go on. Youtube: Eat that frog! by Brian Tracy.

I’ll wait.

All done? MMhm. The video makes a good point. I have been leaving frogs all over the place!

The weight of it all is really not fun. I feel tired and discouraged; so much so that even those mundane tasks are scarry. So in this moment, blog world, will you hold me accountable? I want to eat my frogs. I want to turn those mountains I’ve been stairing up at for the past while into mole hills. My prayer is that I won’t depend soley on my own strength to get over these hills, but that I will find my strength in Him.

1 Chronicles 16:11 says “Look to the lord and his strength; seek his face always.”

God wants to relieve us of our burdens, “For my yolk is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:30.

My prayer for you, is that today you can look to Him for your strength. Acknowledge him and humble yourself. It wouldn’t be possible to do anything without him, never mind climbing Mount Everest (and eating a frog). And I hope that as I go on today, I will have His strength, and his alone. Because I don’t know how else it will be possible for me to get everything that needs to be done well, right, and on time- done.

So for my first step. Time to get off the internet. Time to get my hiking shoes out, and time to go climbin’.

See you on the other side!

This entry was posted in motivation., school., that's hard work.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment