Valentines Day Woe.

 

This morning I found out that an old boyfriend just got engaged. Such a funny way to begin Valentines Day, don’t you think? I’m trying to be tough about it–I mean, I am very healed and over our relationship so I feel genuinely happy for him. But something that struck me is how I also feel somewhat irritated about his life moving on, when my own feels like it’s at a stand still.

I don’t mean to wish unhappiness upon him, by any means! But him being engaged means that his life is going onwards and upwards; changing and evolving. The fact that I’m not there means very little since I know we weren’t meant to be, and we have been growing apart the last 2 years. But it seems different today–now I’m officially what the world would call, “behind.”

Gah. Such a typical Valentines Day message for us, single folk. And I don’t think I thought up this attitude on my own, I think it surrounds us: “You’re behind. You’re missing something. You must feel terribly alone.”

Am I alone really? For goodness sakes, I have so many people around me that love and care for me! But alas, I am at a standstill romantically, and that fact makes the world’s Valentines Day mumbo-jumbo hit a nerve. If you are in the same place, I feel for you. This day kinda sucks. But I will not let it beat me, and I don’t want to bring down those who are on a love-high, because I know how amazing that is. Today, although it pains me to say it, is a day for those without a significant other, to be somewhat humble. Keep in mind that love is a real amazing gift, and while enjoying it, there is nothing worse than a negative Nancy who makes you feel like you don’t deserve to feel special. Let’s not be love-squashing negative Nancys.

Instead of sitting in the moping syrup, this year I am going to try and be really happy for those who are blissfully engaged (literally and figuratively) in their love life, and I will enjoy my own. This year, it looks like sisters and friends joining together for a pink dinner party. We are loved and special, and an event that celebrates our friendships, helps remind us.

So here’s to a happy and humble Valentines day single folk! Go listen to Michael Buble’s “I just haven’t met you yet!” and be further encouraged.

xo
This entry was posted in glass half full., healing my heart., love., past., pensive., singleness.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

