No Babies. No Illness.

There are no babies and (with deep respect) no life altering illnesses here, but I hope you will stick around.

I’ll admit, I’m a huuge fan of the mommy-blogs. It is a sick obsession really, because I find myself looking at them even though I am very aware of the fact that I don’t/can’t use any of the mommy-gold yet. Here I am, 21 years old, teachers college bound, researching how to put your kids to bed on time, how to make proper baby food puree, and the like. I read their stories of hurdles overcome and marriage trials, daily.

I’m not the only one, people love this stuff–they eat it up. She figured out how to keep a screaming 2-year old from acting up in the grocery store??? Instantly moms (and me?) come running. It’s wonderful that the support is there for those who need it. But.

I am neither married, nor with child.  I’m not out of my league, I’m out of my season. And I wish I could offer you a cornucopia of that stuff, because apparently it’s popular. But I hope to offer you something that fits well with those of you who need to hear from a different voice. Because I’m not there yet, but I am very much here…

I’m in the season of University life and college living; scraping my pennies together to buy a liter of milk, wearing earplugs to bed because the frat boys next door are blaring techno at 2 am, going to Bible study on Thursday nights by subway on my own and leaving on my own, going shopping whenever I want, curiously and anxiously awaiting the arrival of Mr. Right., keeping lists of future kids names for whenever that later season comes, leaving for a friends place at a moments notice, visiting my parents on the weekend. Perhaps you are there too??

Dude(s), let’s get coffee. There are not enough of us spoken for out here, and so I want to rep us in between folk. Or at the very least, I’ll rep me and my journey to who knows where. Perhaps mommy-hood, or maybe, (crazy idea) somewhere else.

This entry was posted in glass half full., just being honest., me., normal life., school., verb: to blog.. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Babies. No Illness.

  1. I love your post. Hilarious.
    It does seem that mommies blog more than anyone else. I think, maybe, it’s our only connection to the world beyond home. Or maybe, if we blog, we realize we belong. Hmmmm… you’ve got me wondering.

    Enjoy this season of life “before mommyhood.” Before marriage. In college. My son will be there in another 1 1/2 years… then I’ll have more to blog about! 🙂

    God bless.

    • I agree, a connection to the world is so important, especially to moms of young children who can talk and talk and talk to their young ones but need a reply here and there. Plus with all of that time to think and meditate on our roles as women, a blog is a great place to “unload.” I read a bit of your blog, and you sure have a wide range of kiddos, age wise. What fun! It must keep you balanced. If you need any advice on the mindset of a college student, don’t hesitate to ask:)

  2. Eryn says:

    I am in EXACTLY the same position as you. I read probably between 10-15 mommy blogs on a daily basis. I’m 20 and in college. Not even a boyfriend in sight. Yet I find myself composing lists upon lists of things I need to “remember” when I have my own babies, names that I fall in love with, and products that are the best for little ones. I seriously thought I was the only one! Good to know that I’m not! 🙂

    • Oh, we are for sure not alone! But I agree that it is reassuring to know that there are others in the same boat–Thank you for commenting and assuring me🙂 I think I am going to do a post soon regarding the benefits to this season, just to balance out our desires to take part in the exciting and seemingly wonderful aspects that we will enjoy later in life. What are your favourite parts of the ‘right now’ season? I’ll add them to the list!

Leave a Reply

