February.

In Canada, this word denotes the in-between season where Mother Nature seems to be incapible of making up her mind as to what season it actually is. Is it winter? Is it spring? Each day is a surprise. (Less of a surprise if you listen to the weather report).

Today is full blown winter. We got 20 cm of snow last night, and the road in front of the house is still unplowed. Car tires pat down the fresh snow and make it possible for commuters to travel.

Tomorrow will be sunny and -1, and perhaps we will loose some of the accumulated white stuff. Canadian slush is immanent.

Oh you didn’t know that there is such thing as Canadian slush? I’ve decided that there is. For who else but Canadians, blog about the presence of slush? Hmm?

Point proven.

Anyways, I am very looking foreword to the end of February and the arrival of spring. My boots are not happy being “a-salted” daily. Oh me. And I bought a new pair of pink jeans that I’m dying to break out. Yes…they are pink. Light pink if you must know. And I look foreword to frolicking in the puddles in my cute rain boots which I tried to break into winter weather. Not so much.

I wore them in the snow for about an hour and a half, and my feet froze. That is until I came inside and warmed them by the fire. No need for loss of limb, thankfully!

Canadians are a brave and strong species, there is no doubt about it. I’m so proud to be one! If not mainly for the maple syrup, moose, polite people, fall leaves, hockey, coast lines, and the phrase “eh?”, then for the ability to say that I can endure winter like a champ. Boo ya.

If you are reading from anywhere above the tree line, I salut you.

This entry was posted in canadian., simple pleasures., stream of consciousness.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February.

  1. Jess says:

    Hey Julia!

    Long time no see, but I can tell you’re doing well 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your blog, it’ll be fun to have something new to read.
    xo

Leave a Reply

