Talking to Your Tears.

Do you ever have moments where the jobs before you seem completely impossible, because you just don’t want to do them? Because you just don’t feel like it?

John Piper reminds us of an important practice that has encouraged me today. It’s called ‘talking to your tears,’ and it involves a few tissues and a heap of self-control.

So here’s the lesson: When there are simple, straightforward jobs to be done, and you are full of sadness, and tears are flowing easily, go ahead and do the jobs with tears. Be realistic. Say to your tears: ‘Tears, I feel you. You make me want to quit life. But there is a field to be sown (dishes to be washed, computer to be fixed, paper to be written). I know you will wet my face several times today, but I have work to do and you will just have to go with me. I intend to take the bag of seeds and sow. If you come along then you will just have to wet the rows.”

Those who sow in tears will reap with shouts of joy!                                                – Psalm 126:5-6

This entry was posted in against the grain., glass half full., that's hard work.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

