On Being Fearless.

I have changed so much over the years. Life has sent me a curve ball or two, and through it all (well, all 21 years of it) I have been able to draw some conclusions, and I feel more confident today that the things I believe are rooted in truth, than ever. Praise God for that!

I need a little help to explain one idea in particular. Okay, T-Swift could you come in here a sec? I think they’re sufficiently curious.

Uh, thanks. Now, if you would, please recite the chorus from your single titled “Fearless,” for our reading audience.

“And I don’t know how it gets better than this
You take my hand and drag me headfirst, fearless
And I don’t know why but with you I dance
In a storm in my best dress, fearless…”

I used to have a really different understanding of the word fearless. Okay, back up slightly. Two days ago, I used to have a different understanding of the word fearless. To me, “fearless” was a questionable concept. I didn’t like it.

I may or may not have been writing a post about how it is unbiblical to be fearless, because it can be. But through writing about how I felt my perspective changed–my attitude went from half empty to half full, and I began again.

I would like to invite you to be fearless with me. But before you fly off to New Zealand to jump off a bridge, or ask your boyfriend to marry you, hold on a sec. I probably don’t mean what you think I mean. I’m redefining the word according to a higher definition and giving it a higher calling than I once thought it could possess. And maybe I’m pessimistic, but I don’t think this is the way it is usually interpreted. Though maybe I’m wrong, who knows? Perhaps you good people figured this out before I did.

I’m getting to this in a sec, hold your horses.

The reason I got so fired up and negative about the word in the first place is because I have misused it. I have used the word to be gutsy and share everything I have been dying to share, do everything I wanted to do–all under the banner of, “fearless individual: ready to reap the rewards and/or take the consequences.” It made me selfish, disregard how God may or may not be working (without my help), and loose patience.

As a generation of humans who are encouraged daily to pander to our own emotions, always at the ready to respond to personal need and desire with the closest/cheapest/most attractive source of comfort available, I didn’t think, “fearless” provided a very good message. I assumed that a fearless attitude ignores all logical sense, gripes with self control, and gives people an excuse to give in to all emotions. And let’s be honest, it can and will be perceived that way.

But this isn’t a biblical perspective, nor is it the approach I’ve (finally) learned to embrace after making many mistakes and receiving much redirection. I have come to embrace a new style of being fearless which is not so popular or well liked. It, like the original version I spoke of, requires a complete abandonment of sorts. Accept now, instead of an abandonment to ourselves, it involves an abandonment to Jesus Christ. To God. To the creator and designer of the universe. It requires being fearless for Him.

Although I have seen and felt God work in my life in so many ways, it still takes the most courage and trust to lay down my own desires, hopes, and dreams. And I mean, really laying them down, pushing them away, and accepting the fact that God has a better plan for them than I ever could have conceived on my own. Trusting in that too–joyfully!

How’s that for fearless?

I’d say it’s pretty gosh darn brave. But never, and i’ll say it again, never will it be in vain.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” (Proverbs 3:5)

I can attest to the fact that the most remarkable fruit has come from those situations which I fully surrendered to God. I chose not to intervene more than I felt was necessary, prayed daily for the strength to trust and hope in His provision, and I had to fight for it sometimes. But when the season passed or the boy left or the person died or the paper was handed in, He revealed how my fight to be fearless was not in vain. And it don’t stop there! By entrusting your life and daily occurrences to God, you may find that you’re plans don’t seem to be as important as they once were. And that type of trust will allow you to go into intimate relationship with our creator.

A heads up, avoiding that for the rest of your life would actually be something to be fearful about. Don’t miss the opportunity to be fearlessly smitten by the one who created you. It’s wonderful, and you can be confidently fearless.

Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God. –Corrie ten Boom

This entry was posted in against the grain., being girly., fearless., glass half full., motivation., pensive., trust.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

